Club Competition

The IPMS Middleton Cheney Kit Basher of the Year Award is a trophy given out to a club member during the January meeting every year. The winner of the prestigious award is the member who accumulates the most points over the course of the previous year by entering finished kits in the bi-monthly competition. On alternate months, entries are made, with a maximum of two permitted per member. One point is awarded per entry, and all attending club members allocate a single vote to their favourite entry, with the entrant receiving one point for one vote. Thus, the most votes and therefore most points denote the most popular builder over the course of the year.

Meetings featuring the competition are held on the following months: February, April, June, August, October and December.

The competition has been running since 2007, in which time there have been six different winners. The longest winning streak is two years, achieved on three occasions by three different members – father and son duo Gary and Sam Evins in 2008-09 and 2013-14 respectively, and Martin Aris in 2016-17. The record for most wins currently stands at four, also held by Martin, in 2007, 2010, 2016 and 2017. Below is a complete list of the competition winners to date:

2007Martin Aris
2008Gary Evins
2009Gary Evins
2010Martin Aris
2011Matt Smith
2012Richard Coughtry
2013Sam Evins
2014Sam Evins
2015Rob French
2016Martin Aris
2017Martin Aris
2018Sam Evins
2019Gary Evins
2020Not held
2021Not held
2016 Kit Basher of the Year, Martin Aris (left), presented with the trophy by 2015 winner Rob French (right).
%d bloggers like this: